Skip to content

Why I love Jesus

June 5, 2012

This past Sunday I was challenged during a group time to write about an experience with Jesus.  We were asked to use our imaginations and write descriptively about a possible scene with Jesus in the gospels or from our own experiences with Him.  I had never written down, descriptively, my first experience at hearing His voice directly and personally to me, so I felt compelled to try to describe it.  It was a wonderful reminder of why I love Him so much and I thought I would share it on my blog.

The pillow was cool against my cheek, wet from the tears I had wept into it, cooled by the night air.  I felt utterly alone, betrayed, full of despair-unloved.  Darkness was all about me, and within me HOPE seemed a feeling completely distanced from my memory.  Suddenly, a shock.  A bright light fell upon my closed eyelids, so bright that I could sense its presence through the darkness on the underneath side of my lids.  Curious, despite my depression, I opened my eyes.  There upon my pillow I saw a dancing light softly beckoning me to look up towards its source.  There, outside my window and brighter than I ever remember seeing it shine through the trees, was a full, radiant moon.

In the quiet of my deep need, in the depth of my desire for unfailing love, I heard His voice.  “I love you, my darling.  I will never leave you.  You are so precious to me.”  It was not just the words, it was the enveloping warmth of His presence that I felt all about me that communicated the unspeakable depth of His love.  Oh, Jesus!  I had no remembrance of hearing and feeling his presence so clearly but I knew it was him.  My tears began to flow again, this time out of humbled love. But, wait.  Was I dreaming, imagining this scene to make myself feel better?  The moon suddenly disappeared behind a cloud and my heart fell with doubt.  Then, an act of grace to my doubting mind and heart – the light flooded once again, but this time square upon my cheek. “I love you” said Jesus.  “I am still here.”

“I hear you, Lord,” I said.  “I believe you.  Here is my whole heart.  It is yours tonight and forever.”

And true as He is to every promise, He has never left. And He has never stopped loving me ardently.

This is the first reason why I follow Jesus:  His love compels me.

I Corinthians 5:13-14 (NIV)

If we are out of our mind, it is for the sake of God; if we are in our right mind, it is for you.  For Christ’s love compels us, because we are convinced that one died for all, and therefore all died.  And he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again.

1 John 4:10  We love him because he first loved us and sent His son into the world that we might live through Him.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

